Posts by November Terra

point is that since introduction of HNR focus was on activity vs GMs as activity is generating more GMs than skilled players and causes less tickets and tensions on maps. This is why we do not have any mechanics to protect our troops during afk against HNR.

Hit and Run or Shoot and Scoot or whatever you want to call it was never "introduced", its a side effect of the server tick(update) rate and has been a thing since I started playing back in 2010.

I dunno the exact numbers or steps, but lets say the server runs a check on every army in every game (This is waaay simplified):

Does it have an artillery unit in it?
    If Yes, is there an enemy army in range?
    If Yes, has it been more than an hour since the last shot?
    If yes, pew pew time.

For sake of ease, let's pretend there are only 100,000 armies in the current games so its doing this query 100,000 times a minute.

Now, the server does this lets say every minute, so you have a window of a minute to run in, manually shoot, and run away.

If you want to reduce the shoot and scoot window down to 30 seconds, you have to double the server update rate from every 60 seconds to 30 seconds. That'll be 100,000 queries every 30 seconds now, so 200,000 every minute. Effectively doubling it.

Do it again, lets say we want only 15 seconds, thats 100,000 queries every 15 seconds, or 400,000 every minute.

An update every 7.5 seconds, which is still enough time for someone to shoot and scoot somewhat reliably more often than not, thats 100,000 queries every 7.5 seconds, 800,000 a minute.

And if we want to bring it down to 3.75 seconds which would likely be where you reach the point where shoot and scoot starts to fail more than it succeeds, you have to again keep doubling the update rate and at this point it'll be 1,600,000 queries a minute, from the initial 100,000.